Notice: Due to COVID-19, we will be conducting all consultations either via video chat, phone, or email. Please don’t hesitate to call us if you have any questions!
Statute of Limitations Minors

Our policy is to ensure that each client gets the best representation and personal attention they deserve.

Statute of Limitations for Minors Calculation

Statute of Limitations For Minor Children in North Carolina

In North Carolina, the statute of limitations for a minor child is different from that of an adult. Generally speaking the statute of limitations for an adult is three (3) years from the date of injury or the discovery of the injury for a negligence claim under N.C. Gen. Stat. § 1-52(16). However, this general rule of three (3) years does not apply to minor children who have been injured car accidents in North Carolina.

Firstly, it is important to understand that a minor child is not an adult and is considered under a ‘legal’ disability. Therefore, a minor child is not limited by a three (3) years statute of limitations in the same manner an adult would be in North Carolina.

The law in North Carolina, particularly N.C Gen Stat. §1-17(a), states that a minor is required to initiate a legal action for negligence within three (3) years after the removal of his or her disability. This means that a minor child must file their legal action for negligence within three (3) years after the minor turns eighteen, is emancipated, or has a Guardian ad Litem appointed. For more information about presenting and filing a claim for minor children in North Carolina please visit our article on Statute of Limitations and Minor Children (Link).

A minor child’s claim for negligence arising from a car accident would permit the minor child to: (1) reach the age of majority and file a lawsuit within three (3) years or (2) file the claim within three (3) years of the appointment of a Guardian ad Litem.

It is important to understand that a person is considered under a disability if the person meets one or more of the following conditions founds with N.C. Gen. Stat. §1-17:

(1) The person is within the age of 18 years.

(2) The person is insane.

(3) The person is incompetent as defined in G.S. 35A-1101(7) or (8).

Hear What Our Clients Have to Say

  • “When my 4-year old son and I were involved in a terrible head-on collision, I wasn't sure where to turn. Wallace Pierce has been great showing me the way!”

    - Mary P.
  • “Richard Dingus is a great attorney! And I think thee best, serving in the state of North Carolina. I would recommend him for injury and bodily claim any day.”

    - Isaac B.
  • “They were concerned not only about getting our vehicle replaced, but more importantly my kid’s full recovery.”

    - Coral M.