Accident Q&A series

What does it mean when an insurer says its insured did not breach a duty in a car accident?

· Wallace Pierce Law

Questions about your claim? Talk directly with a North Carolina injury attorney. Call (919) 313-2737 Send your details

Short Answer

It means the insurer believes its driver did not act unreasonably or violate a legal obligation that caused the crash. In a North Carolina negligence claim, breach of duty is one part of proving liability, but an insurer’s denial is only its position—not a court ruling. If the denial conflicts with the police report, witness accounts, photographs, or other evidence, the basis for the decision should be examined and challenged with specific facts.

What “Did Not Breach a Duty” Means

Drivers generally have a duty to use reasonable care under the circumstances and follow applicable traffic laws. A “breach” is an act or failure to act that falls short of that duty. Depending on the circumstances, examples might include failing to yield, following too closely, making an unsafe turn, failing to keep a proper lookout, or driving too fast for conditions.

When an insurer says its insured did not breach a duty, it is usually denying negligence. The insurer may be claiming that its driver acted reasonably, that someone else caused the collision, or that the available evidence does not establish what its driver did wrong.

This language does not necessarily mean the insurer disputes that the collision or injuries occurred. It may be disputing only the liability portion of the claim. Coverage, fault, causation, and damages are separate issues, even though an adjuster may investigate them at the same time.

What Must Usually Be Shown in a North Carolina Car Accident Claim?

A negligence claim generally requires evidence supporting four related points:

  1. Duty: The other driver owed a legal duty, such as the duty to operate the vehicle with reasonable care.
  2. Breach: The driver failed to meet that duty through an unreasonable act or omission.
  3. Causation: That failure caused or contributed to the collision and the claimed injuries.
  4. Damages: The injured person experienced actual losses supported by evidence.

A denial based on “no breach” focuses on the second point. A useful response normally identifies the precise driving conduct at issue and connects that conduct to evidence. Simply telling the insurer that its conclusion is wrong may be less effective than explaining, for example, how vehicle positions, photographs, witness statements, video, or physical damage contradict its version.

The Police Report Is Important, but It Is Not the Entire Investigation

A crash report is often a useful starting point. It may identify the drivers, vehicles, witnesses, roadway conditions, statements, contributing circumstances, and any citations. It may also help locate evidence that would otherwise be difficult to find.

However, a report does not by itself decide civil liability. An officer may not have witnessed the crash, may have received incomplete accounts, or may later prepare a supplemental report. The insurer should evaluate the broader evidence rather than treating one entry in the report as the complete answer.

Evidence worth gathering and preserving may include:

  • The complete crash report and any supplemental report.
  • Photographs or video of the scene, vehicles, traffic signals, signs, and visible injuries.
  • Names and current contact information for witnesses.
  • Vehicle repair estimates, photographs taken before repairs, and total-loss documents.
  • Dash-camera, business surveillance, or traffic-camera footage, if available.
  • The denial letter and all emails or letters exchanged with each insurer.
  • Medical records, bills, visit summaries, and records of missed work.
  • A clear timeline of the collision and later claim communications.

Time matters because video may be overwritten, vehicles may be repaired, roadway conditions may change, and memories may fade.

Why Another Insurer’s Subrogation Demand Matters

A subrogation demand generally means an insurance company paid some part of a loss for its own policyholder and is seeking reimbursement from another insurer or responsible party. In a car accident, that demand may concern vehicle damage, rental expenses, or another payment. It does not necessarily establish how the bodily injury claim was evaluated.

The presence of a subrogation demand may show that another carrier believes the insured driver bears responsibility, but it is not automatically an admission of fault by the liability insurer. North Carolina law also provides that settling a motor vehicle property-damage claim does not, by itself, amount to an admission of liability or release a separate bodily injury claim. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 1-540.2 states that rule in more detail.

When records show that a second insurer is “handling the loss,” it is important to identify which company is addressing each part of the matter. Property damage, bodily injury, medical payments coverage, and a reimbursement claim may have separate claim numbers and adjusters. Confusion between those files can leave the actual reason for a liability denial unclear.

Questions to Raise About an Unexplained Denial

A written request for clarification can ask the insurer to identify:

  • The specific conduct it evaluated when deciding there was no breach.
  • Its account of how the collision occurred.
  • The evidence considered, including driver and witness statements.
  • Whether the denial applies to bodily injury, property damage, or both.
  • Which insurer and adjuster are responsible for each open claim.
  • Whether additional documents would cause the insurer to reconsider its position.

North Carolina’s unfair claim settlement practices statute addresses certain claim-handling conduct, including refusing to pay claims without conducting a reasonable investigation and failing to provide a reasonable explanation for a denial. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 58-63-15 describes those standards. Whether any particular handling was improper depends on the complete facts; a disagreement with the insurer’s conclusion does not automatically establish a violation.

North Carolina’s Contributory Negligence Defense

Even if evidence shows that the insured driver breached a duty, the insurer may separately argue that the injured person’s own negligence helped cause the collision. North Carolina permits contributory negligence as a defense, which can create serious problems for an injury claim if proved.

The party raising contributory negligence generally bears the burden of proving it under N.C. Gen. Stat. § 1-139. Evidence should therefore address both what the other driver did wrong and why the injured person acted reasonably. A statement that the insured did not breach a duty is different from an allegation of contributory negligence, so the insurer should clarify which position it is taking.

How This Applies to the Available Facts

Here, the denial reportedly states that the insured driver did not breach a duty, while the injured person’s account and the police report appear inconsistent with that conclusion. The file also indicates that another insurance company was handling the loss and had submitted a subrogation demand, but the available records do not explain how the denying insurer reached its decision.

Those circumstances justify a closer review rather than an assumption that the denial settles the issue. The next steps may include comparing the denial with the complete crash report, confirming whether a supplemental report exists, identifying all claim numbers and adjusters, reviewing available statements and photographs, and asking for the factual basis of the no-breach decision. The subrogation materials should also be examined to determine what was paid, which driver the other carrier considers responsible, and whether that process concerns only property damage.

Do Not Let Claim Discussions Replace Deadline Review

Many North Carolina personal injury actions are subject to a three-year filing period under N.C. Gen. Stat. § 1-52, although the correct deadline depends on the claim and circumstances. Negotiations, requests for reconsideration, and communications between insurance companies do not automatically extend the deadline for filing a lawsuit. A denial should therefore be reviewed promptly, especially if substantial time has passed since the collision.

When Wallace Pierce Law May Be Able to Help

Wallace Pierce Law may be able to review the denial language, crash report, photographs, witness information, insurance correspondence, and subrogation records to identify the insurer’s stated position and any gaps in its investigation. The firm may also help determine which carrier is handling each part of the loss, organize evidence addressing breach and causation, and communicate a fact-based request for reconsideration.

If liability remains disputed, an attorney can also evaluate contributory negligence concerns, preserve available evidence, and track the filing deadline. A review cannot guarantee that an insurer will change its decision, but it can clarify what the denial means and what options may remain.

A path forward

What happened is part of your story. Not the end of it.

A clear plan makes room to heal. We handle the claim. You get back to your life.

Talk through what comes next